people are selfish.

You’ll come to realize that there are some very unreliable people you will come across. And I don’t mean this in a cynical way. I mean this as a fact of life. It’s hard to constantly give and think that people will return the same, because all in all, people can act selfish, and that’s 100% okay. What’s not 100% okay, is taking advantage of other people for your own needs.

I was catching up with my friend the other day and as she told me of all the things that have happened, I couldn’t help but feel that you automatically need to have a guard for when it comes to situations like these.

And this is just some advice to you folk out there reading my blog. Whether it’s a significant other, a family member, friends or foes, do NOT let others bring you down. Focus on your own achievements and your own life, because worrying about another person that doesn’t put in the same effort as you just completely d r a i n s you.

And I know; I’ve been there.

You are worth it and you deserve so much more. These people that did you dirty? They’re irrelevant. It’s a bullet completely and utterly Matrix-dodged. Feel better knowing in life that you did the best you could do, and if they couldn’t reciprocate it, then it’s a lesson learned and a distant memory. And of course, why give them the satisfaction of knowing that they messed you up? Again, dear comrade, they. are. irrelevant.

It’s easier said than done, I know, but if you ever feel like you’re in a slump, here are my two cents of what you can do:

  1. Wake up in the morning, look in the mirror, and tell yourself to get your shit together. I know, it sounds kind of silly, but when you have you telling you off, it kind of puts things into “Okay, seriously, I actually need to get my stuff together.”
  2. Document the good moments. It’s easy to get bogged down by the negatives, but think of the good moments too. Hanging out with friends and family? I recommend putting it in a jar so that when you are feeling down; you can read on the little slips of paper the stuff that did happen that made you happy.
  3. Listen to calming music/sounds. My go-to: Shri Guru Charanam. I swear, I don’t know what it is, but they put some subliminal message to make me relaxed.
  4. Agenda: Document all the things you have to do each day to improve yourself. Have a calendar and write down at least ONE thing you can look forward to each day. My schedule goes like this: Sunday: catch up on TV shows and hang out with family | Monday: gym | Tuesday: family dinner | Wednesday: basketball | Thursday: gym | Friday: hanging out with friends | Saturday: shopping
  5. Leverage your support structure: Unless you have shitty friends, you should have a good support structure around you.
  6. New hobbies/doing things you love: I know this sounds utterly stupid, but it is something that has brought meaning to the life of UofTears. When I was in a slump, I would just dance or start writing, and because of these things, I actually ended up having them as part-hobbies.

Focus on your successes and your own life, because in the end, these people and memories are going to be a distant memory. And hey, if you need someone to talk to, I’m always here!

js

 

 

Leave a comment